top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessie Scott

Pets Challenge


I'm part of a fun card/ATC swap group on Facebook and for the month of March, the swaps followed the theme "Pets." I have THE PERFECT stamp set!




Waffle Flower has an adorable line with little hamsters and my FAVORITE is "Gym Rat." I searched for some fun inspiration and I actually had to CASE this fun shadow box card for my swap. Original artist is Ink and Paw Prints: https://inkandpawprints.wordpress.com/2018/09/19/shadox-box-card-rat-gym/





I love the color scheme so I stuck with that using Copics Y04, Y08 and Y17, BG02, BG05 and B28, R14, R24 and R27 and then for the hamster colors: E41, E42, E53, E55, E57, E59, C00, C2, C3, C5, C6, C8 and RV10 cheeks and RV13 for ears and darker color cheeks.


I added a piece of acetate to the window to make it feel more like a hamster house. I used 1/8" scortape to adhere to my frame and then to the shadow box



The shadow box is made from a 7-1/8" long by 2-1/2" tall piece of blue paper that I scored at 1/8", 1-7/8", 5-1/4", & 7"


The inside pieces supporting the hamsters and equipment are 2 @ 1" x 3-7/8" scored at 1/4" from each end to make the attaching flaps


Acetate is 3-3/8" x 2" (adhered with 1/8" scortape)


Feel free to have fun with this set as I wanted a Richard Simmons hamster haha. I took my 0.3 multiliner and drew on some fun hair and then added a line to the hamster outfit to make it look more like shorts that I colored with stripes.



I also made some more images for a more pastel 80s/90s look for my ATC swaps and used my multiliner to draw the leotard looking lines with belts. I swapped out the reds and used the RV13/RV10 combo for the outfits with the Y08/Y04 and BG02/BG05. I also used the multiliner to add polka dots and geometric shapes to the outfits. I did use a C8/C6 combo with G14/FG2 and YR15/YR16 to have some other pop but I liked the yellow,blue,pink comb outfits the best!



See my Instagram Post to watch the center one SPIN! And the other post to watch the infinity shakers shake! To make the spinner, I attached the wheel to acetate and punched a hole in the center with a hole punch. Then I used a popdot (with some added circle punches for spacer washers) to attach the hamster through the acetate and to the card.

These awesome frames are from Whimsey Stamps, Observation Deck Slimline Die frames.

8 views

Recent Posts

See All

I'm Moving!

http://blog.chevyscott.com come see my new location!

bottom of page